Don Airey

Keyboardist Don Airey Releases ‘Keyed Up’ Solo Album

Friday, February 28th, 2014

Legendary keyboardist Don Airey (Deep Purple, Ozzy Osbourne, Rainbow) has just released his new solo album, “Keyed Up”, via Music Theories Recordings.

Don has played with pretty much everyone worth playing with, and is currently working and touring with Deep Purple. This new solo CD draws from a range of influences from his past. And while he has a solid band, there are a few notable guests appearing on the album, including one of the last pieces of work by the late Gary Moore.

“Keyed Up” mixes jazz, rock and blues, and some instrumental passages allow some rightly deserved self-indulgence from Don; whether intricate playing or use of effects, it’s all enjoyable.

One of the highlights of the album is a remake of Rainbow’s “Difficult To Cure”. While it lacks Ritchie Blackmore’s finesse, the guitar sounds fantastic and Don’s keyboards are bright. The programmed orchestral break is a good touch too. “Mini Suite” sees some good guitar interplay, before switching to piano. There are touches of Gary Moore here, and more on “Adagio”, where his guitar work stands out.

The band on this record was Don Airey on keyboards, Darrin Mooney (Primal Scream) on drums, Laurence Cottle on bass, Rob Harris (Jamiroquai) on guitar and Carl Sentance on vocals. Guest performers include the aforementioned Gary Moore, Graham Bonnet, Simon MacBride, Alex Meadows and Tim Goodyer. The engineer was Ewan Davies.

Don said: “I loved having the responsibility of pulling together the sessions at Chapel Studios.

“The album was basically laid down live, no overdubs, no redoing; we don’t do file sharing.

“There are wonderful musicians on this record. I call them ‘the band that never was,’ as it’s a true pleasure to work together, but opportunities are so limited.

“Being in a band like Deep Purple, especially with the success we’ve had [last] year, should be enough; but I need another outlet.

“Some of the music is straight-ahead rock, a tribute to where I’ve come from, but there’s variety — ‘Blue Rondo A La Turk’ was the piece I played on my first radio performance aged 14. There are plenty of weird sounds too, most from the Hammond; a lot of it wasn’t planned, I just got carried away with the moment!”

“Keyed Up” track listing:

01. 3 In The Morning

02. Beat The Retreat

03. Blue Rondo A La Turk

04. Solomon’s Song

05. Claire D’Loon

06. Flight Of Inspiration

07. Inside

08. The Godbox

09. Difficult To Cure 2013

10. Mini Suite *

a) Lament/Jig

b) Restless Spirit

c) What Went Wrong

11. Adagio *

12. Grace

* featuring Gary Moore on guitar


Don Airey – keyboards

Darrin Mooney – drums

Laurence Cottle – bass

Rob Harris – guitar

Carl Sentance – vocals


Posted under Band News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

- Enter Your Location -
- or -