mike oldfield

Mike Oldfield Releasing Remix Album

Tuesday, January 29th, 2013

Mike Oldfield has set a February 5th release date for his new remix album, which is entitled Tubular Beats.

All tracks have been reworked from the original multi-track recordings and remixed together by Mike Oldfield and multi-platinum awarded German producer Torsten “York” Stenzel. Having previous worked together, the duo fused their style in a full elaborate project for the first time, embellishing Oldfield’s most famous songs with the aid of modern electronic music.

Newly recorded guitar parts by Oldfield have been added to the mix, and a brand new song featuring ex-Nightwish singer Tarja Turunen closes the album on a high note.

Classics like “Tubular Bells,” “To France,” and “Moonlight Shadow” shine again through fresh and danceable new versions. Mike Oldfield kept creative control throughout the whole production and despite the “new dress” the songs managed to keep the original melodies and structure intact, being brand new at the same time.

“Never Too Far” is a brand new song featuring singer Tarja Turunen who not surprisingly is offering one of her most emotional performances ever, as Oldfield is one of the singer’s heroes.

Tarja explains: “It was such a pleasure to work with Mike Oldfield. The song turned out to be even better than I could have ever expected. Mike has a vast career and experience in pop, instrumental and electronic music. I love his music and his personal guitar sound.

“My work in this song was inspired by Mike’s ‘Islands’ featuring another of my youth idol: Bonnie Tyler,” continues Tarja. “A way to thank them for the nice melodies I grew up with was to add a line from their hit. And I believe Mike liked the idea too. That’s how ‘Never Too Far’ was born. Hope that you enjoy the song as much as I do.”

Track Listing:

1. Let There Be Light (York Remix)

2. Far Above The Clouds (York Remix)

3. Ommadawn (Mike Oldfield & York Remix)

4. Guilty (Mike Oldfield & York Remix)

5. Tubular Bells (Mike Oldfield & York Remix)

6. To France (York & Steve Brian Radio Mix)

7. Northstar (Mike Oldfield & York Remix)

8. Moonlight Shadow (York & Steve Brian Radio Mix)

9. Guilty (York & Mike’s Electrofunk Remix)

10. Tubular Bells 2 (Mike Oldfield & York Remix)

11. Never Too Far (new song, with Tarja Turunen)

Posted under Band News, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

- Enter Your Location -
- or -